Founder member of FECMA

Assessment results in 00 D 00 H 00 M 00 S
The recognised standard

ICM announces winners of prestigious icm10 awards

24 March 2010

In its fourth successful year, the icm10 awards ceremony was held at The Royal Courts of Justice, commonly called the Law Courts, on the Strand, London on 16 March.

Organised and hosted by the Institute of Credit Management (ICM), the awards are designed to reward and acknowledge excellent practice in an increasingly complex and demanding profession.

The awards are unlike others in the industry with entrants independently nominated by either their employer, a supplier or customer. Entries are judged anonymously, with the names of organisations or individuals removed from all documentation submitted to the panel of judges.

On the judging panel were Master Robert Turner, President of the ICM; Lesley Cowley, Nominet; Jane Hingston, Lead Ombudsman for banking and credit; Nick Tiltman, European Plus, Jeff Tucker, March Publishing; Guy Whitehead, Armourcoat Group; and Philip King, Chief Executive of the ICM.

Credit Professional of the Year, the ultimate accolade for exceptional performance and achievement, was awarded to Linda Jones of Hewden Stuart for the significant improvements made throughout her team. The Credit Team at Hewden Stuart made it a night of double celebration, receiving the Performance Improvement Award for its emphasis of having a Credit Manager at the heart of its business delivering real value.

Credit Personality of the Year was equally hard fought, with Claire Sandbrook of Shergroup awarded the prize for her inspiration with passion, and determination across a broad spectrum. While Deb Henderson was recognised for her work with Veolia Water Outsourcing by being given the Unsung Hero award. Krister Henriksson of Finans AB Marginalen was awarded The Sir Roger Cork Prize for the affiliate who achieved the highest aggregate examination marks in their exams in 2009.

Lauren Carter of Moreton Smith scooped the International Trade Award for perseverance in collecting ‘uncollectable debts’, while the Innovative Solution award also went to Moreton Smith International for an ingenious and smart product that can be used in 20 languages. The Newcomer of the Year Award went to Sarah King for improving internal business relationships at Zurich Insurance in the same category, while special mention was given to Louise Davidson of Contract Scotland.

The Developing the Team award was as tightly contested as ever. Jenny Strickland from Shell pipped the other nominees for her work in implementing the One Credit Learning Programme that has transformed the perception of credit. The Fraud Prevention award was given to The Fraud Prevention team at for harnessing the power of enhanced and increased data, leading to a 70 percent reduction in fraudulent transactions.

The awards highlight the excellent work being done by credit professionals during one of the worst periods for the industry according to Philip King, Chief Executive of the ICM: “All those who won the awards and those that were nominated should be congratulated,” he said. “Never before has the role of credit managers been so great in helping to steer us through this current economic crisis.”