Founder member of FECMA

Assessment results in 00 D 00 H 00 M 00 S
The recognised standard

ICM announces winners of prestigious ICM11 Awards

28 March 2011

Karen Kelsey of npower business has been named as the Credit Professional of the Year, at the icm11 awards organised by the Institute of Credit Management (ICM). The award is seen as the ultimate accolade for exceptional performance and achievement in the credit world.

Receiving her trophy from the host on the night, writer and TV personality Gyles Brandreth, Karen was among three others who battled it out to win the right to call themselves the best.

The Unsung Hero Award went to Linda King at Veolia Environmental Services – a firm that has also achieved QiCM status over the last 12 months. Surpana Ray, AICM, was awarded The Sir Roger Cork Prize for the affiliate who achieved the highest aggregate examination marks in their exams in 2010.

The Credit Management team at Innospec Ltd scooped the International Trade Award for continuing successes for the company’s global trade department, while the Innovative Solution award went to Steve Richardson and team at Rimilia, for Alloc8, its innovative Accounts Receivable software suite.

The Newcomer of the Year Award went to Lianna Chan for the impact her performance has made at Moreton Smith International. The Developing the Team award was as tightly contested as ever. Gary Philips at Interlink Express Parcels beat off the other nominees for the award. The Trading and Supplier support team at Homebase collected the Performance Improvement Award.

The two new categories for 2011 were strongly contested, with the Consumer Credit Counselling Services (CCCS) Training Team taking home the Learning Partnership of the Year award and Recognition of Best Practice being awarded to Gary Baker and Team at Verizon.

The awards highlight the excellent work being done by credit professionals during some of the toughest economic conditions the economy has faced, according to Philip King, Chief Executive of the ICM: “Every winner, and even nominee, should be extremely proud of the work they have undertaken over the last 12 months,” he says. “The role of the credit professional has especially come to the fore during this time and the awards reflect the achievements everyone has made.”

On the judging panel were: Master Robert Turner, the ICM’s former President; Lesley Cowley, Chief Executive of Nominet; Jane Hingson, Lead Ombudsman for banking and credit; Nick Tiltman, Managing Director, European Plus; Matthew Rock, business journalist; and Guy Whitehead, CEO, Armourcoat Group.

The icm11 awards ceremony was held at National Maritime Museum, London, on March 24, 2011.