Founder member of FECMA

Assessment results in 00 D 00 H 00 M 00 S
The recognised standard

Industry leading icm09 award winners announced

25 February 2009

Brian Morgan of Veolia Environmental Services UK Ltd was named Credit Professional of The Year at the prestigious icm09 Awards. He fended off stiff competition from Paul Saunders of the National Magazine Co and Jerry Nightingale of BT.

The Credit Personality of The Year category was similarly tight, with Hayley Monks from British Gas Business just pipping Glen Bullivant of the Glen S Bullivant Partnership to the title. Indeed it was a double night of celebration for British Gas, with Charley Avison recognised for her success in the Developing the Team award.

The Sir Roger Cork Prize for the affiliate who achieved the highest aggregate examination marks in their annual exams, was awarded to Sarah Lowton at National Car Rental.

Designed to reward and acknowledge excellent practice in an increasingly complex and demanding profession, the icm09 awards are among the most highly respected in the industry and are unique in that they are judged anonymously: the names of any individual or organisation were removed from all of the documents submitted to the panel. The awards can only be won by candidates nominated by a third-party, and voted for by a judging panel made up of a broad cross-section of industry experts.

Brenda Linger scooped The Unsung Hero award for her work with Credit Management Ltd, and the Newcomer of The Year award went to Dave Roberts for a good start to in his new role at BT.

The awards highlight the excellent work being done by credit professionals at a very testing time for the industry according to Philip King, Director General of the ICM: “They are all to be congratulated on their achievement,” he said. “Never before has the need for professional credit managers been so great to steer us through this current crisis.”

The ICM awards were presented by TV impressionist Jon Culshaw at a gala dinner at the ICC Birmingham on February 17, coinciding with the celebration of the Institute’s 70th anniversary.