Founder member of FECMA

Assessment results in 00 D 00 H 00 M 00 S
The recognised standard

Shortlist for icm11 Awards announced

26 January 2011

The shortlist for the icm11 awards, the most prestigious accolades in the credit profession, has been announced as follows:

Credit Professional of the Year: Karen Kelsey, npower business; Julie Harris, GeoPost UK; Andy Scholes, SITA UK; Samantha Park, British Gas Business.

Unsung Hero Award: Tim Peakman, RBS Insurance; Linda King, Veolia Environment Services; Ellie Coetzee, British Gas Business; Ann Bennett, AB Agri.

Learning Partnership of the Year: Lesley Cheeseman and team, Consumer Credit Counselling Service; Gary Baker and Credit & Collections team, Verizon UK; Brian Morgan and team, Veolia Environment Services; Julia Billard and Credit & Collections team, RBS Insurance.

Developing the Team: Gary Philips, Interlink Express Parcels; Emerald Billing Team, BTB, BT; Multi-site credit team managers, British Gas Business; Finance team, Contract Scotland.

Newcomer of the Year: Wendy Elsmore, Veolia Environment Services; Nicola Taylor, MCR Receivables Management; Lianna Chan, Moreton Smith; Paul Slater, GeoPost UK.

Innovative Solution of the Year:  Steve Richardson and team, Rimilia; Conrad Ford and team, Creditpal; Credit Hound by Draycir; Jennie Kirkland, Trading and Supplier Support, Homebase.

Performance Improvement: Brian Morgan and team, Veolia Environment Services; Credit Department team, Magnet; Jennie Kirkland, Homebase; Gary Philips, Interlink Express Parcels; John Dower and team, Venn Group.

International Trade: Lauren Carter, Moreton Smith; Phil Curran and Credit Control team, Innospec.

Recognition of Best Practice: Gary Baker and Credit Collections team, Verizon UK; Brian Morgan and team, Veolia Environment Services; Tina Carter and team, Cabot Financial; Janet Richards and receivable team, Remploy.

The two new categories, Learning Partnership and Recognition of Best Practice, received a very high standard of entry, which Philip King, Chief Executive of the ICM, believes is down to the development of the working practices seen within the industry. “The credit world is constantly setting the bar higher for working practices,” he says. “We have had some exceptional entries here, which reflects the way credit departments are constantly pushing themselves to achieve great results.”

Unusually, in two of the categories – the Credit Personality of the Year and Fraud Prevention of the Year – no winner was selected. Whilst the standard of entry was high, it was still not deemed high enough to meet the criteria set by the judges.

The awards, organised and hosted by the Institute of Credit Management (ICM), are designed to reward and acknowledge excellent practice in an increasingly complex and demanding profession. The awards entrants are independently nominated by their employer, a supplier, a customer or a peer and are judged anonymously, with the names of organisations/individuals removed from all documentation submitted.